Sign in with
Your question

Windows will not detect my hard drives after powersupply Failure.

Last response: in Storage
July 28, 2010 1:09:04 AM

a few years ago I had a power supply go bad and since then the drives that were installed will not detect in windows. I have scoured the internet looking for answers to no avail. The thing is I am a writer and had many works of mine lost when this occurred and as time passed I have been rather upset that I have not been able to recover them. If anyone has any ideas how to recover data from these drives I would be most appreciative. I will provide any details needed if someone can provide assistance.
a b ) Power supply
a c 357 G Storage
July 28, 2010 6:47:32 PM

If I understand correctly, you do have a computer working for you now, but you have some older drives with valuable data files on them you can't access. The easiest way to work on the older drives will be to install each one in turn in the working computer and try a few tools on them to diagnose. For now, let's work on identifying what you have so we can advise how to set up and connect and make some preparations. When you can feed us back some info we can give you explicit instructions on how to test the drives and recover what you can.

First, though, we need to know what type of drives are the old ones, and what machine and Operating System you had them in. The two most common types are IDE (or PATA), and SATA. On the back edge of an IDE drive there is a power input connector on the right with four recessed pins in a line; to the left are a few pairs of pins for jumpers; to the left of that is a 2" wide connector with 40 pins arranged 2 rows of 20, but one pin is missing. On the back edge of a SATA unit there may not be any pin pairs for jumpers, there will be one wider connector (1½") with 15 fine pins for power input, and another half as wide with 7 pins for the data cable.