AMD Phenom II 555BE + MSi 870A-G54 Mobo Overclocking and Unlocking

Chango99

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2010
I'm a newbie to overclocking and would like some help.

I have a 555BE and msi 870A-G54 mobo as mentioned previously. I've looked at the overclocking guide on the top. I made sure my RAM should be at manufacturer settings, although I'm not too sure about it. It's supposed to be 800MHz PC-12800 but it's downclocked to 667MHz PC3-10700. My mobo automatically set the CAS latency, which seems right. I also changed the 1T/2T Memory Timing from auto to 2T.

I tried setting the FSB/DRAM ratio to 1:4 and it set it to 1600MHz, but the DRAM voltage (auto) went from 1.5v to 1.68v, so I reverted to auto FSB/DRAM ratio, which is 3:10. Then I set it to 1:4 ratio again but manually set the DRAM Voltage to the next highest state, 1.532v. If I try to go to 1.5v, it'll just change to auto. Goes like so: ... -> 1.47v -> Auto -> 1.532v -> ... I'm not too entirely happy with that, but that's safe right?

Anyway, to the overclocking part. I'm brand new to this, but the motherboard seems to support it well enough, even having auto OC features, but inevitably bad auto.

Temps on my CPU are pretty good, so I don't worry too much about it. I use a hyper 212+ with a CM 690ii advanced case with good wire management and ample air flow. My CPU has gone as low as 14C. I idle under 20C most of the time under default settings with Cool'n'Quiet enabled (this is what changes the multiplier from x4-x16 right? is it possible to do that for higher multipliers?) . Under load, it doesn't seem to surpass 37C. I'm not sure about this, but that's the highest it has gone on the mobo CPU temps, which seems to be higher than the CPU cores by 7C (unlocking breaks the temp reader on the CPU).

So I'm not sure what path I am supposed to take with all this. FSB, multipliers, voltage... I'm lost. Are the basic limits to OCing your CPU your temperatures and your voltage?