Sign in with
Your question

Wondering about upgrading my CPU on a factory built computer?

Last response: in CPUs
April 24, 2009 11:13:45 PM

I have a compaq sr5123wm desktop computer ( http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01... )

And the motherboard and CPU (according to HP)
Athlon 64 X2 (B) 4000+ 2.1 GHz (65W)

2000 MT/s (mega transfers/second)
Socket AM2

Chipset
GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Motherboard

Manufacturer: Asus
Motherboard Name: M2N68-LA
HP/Compaq motherboard name: Narra-GL8E

IS it possible to upgrade my CPU to a quad if not what kind of dual core is available for my socket type and stuff, this is my first time installing one, and im just wanting to make sure....Also would it be good to upgrade it? like almost a 3.0ghz to play games and work with videos, I know people will say a lot of games are GPU based but the game i want to play is more CPU than GPU so if would would help me, i would appreciate it. :D 
April 25, 2009 4:28:54 AM

What game do you want to play? I highly doubt anything is more CPU based then GPU.

Heres info on your motherboard.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00...

" * Socket: AM2
* Supports the following processors:
o Athlon 64 X2 with Dual Core technology up to 5600+ (up to 89 watt)
o Athlon 64 less than 4000+
o Sempron less than 4000+"

You dont need a Quad core for gaming.
Related resources
April 25, 2009 4:33:22 AM

Tsuki4455 said:
I have a compaq sr5123wm desktop computer ( http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01... )

And the motherboard and CPU (according to HP)
Athlon 64 X2 (B) 4000+ 2.1 GHz (65W)

2000 MT/s (mega transfers/second)
Socket AM2

Chipset
GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Motherboard

Manufacturer: Asus
Motherboard Name: M2N68-LA
HP/Compaq motherboard name: Narra-GL8E