Votes: 1 25.0%
  • OCZ Vertex 128 for $310

Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters

wt66

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2010
Newbie here guys,

have got a toshiba qosmio x500 (canadian x505 with blu ray burner, i7-720 quad core, 6 gigs of ddr3 and an Nvidia 3600m). The laptop currently has dual 5400 rpm 500 gig drives. it has windows 7 pro.

I want to upgrade my OS to be on an SSD drive, but i'm torn about what to get. There are currently 3 options i have found for a decent price (canadian prices, mind you)...

1) OCZ Agility 2 Extended 180 gig- $450 canadian
2) intel 25X G2 160 gig - $460 canadian

or as a distant 3rd, but smaller

3) OCZ Vertex 2 128 gig - $310 Canadian

Yes i can get that agility 2 cheaper than the intel.
i am leaning towards the larger drives just for the fact that i can put more stuff on there. I mainly use the computer for Music, movies, browsing the net and gaming (starcraft 2 is awesome btw)

I am going crazy researching, there is just too much info, and nothing that i'm asking about specifically. SO MUCH info out there on SSDs, and the tech improves so fast. Help!

what do you guys think?

Voted for C300, with reservations.
You listed the vortex, was that the vortex-2??, if so, for me and my use I would have picked it (120 gig @ 279 after rebate - new egg However you can probably find the 120 gig C300 for the same price).
Intel Highest cost, poorest performance.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/3812/the-ssd-diaries-crucials-realssd-c300/2
Looking at the 4 K random read/writes which is the more important feature..
.. For reads - C300 winner, intel & Votex 2 very close & would know the diff.
.. For writes - Winner = Vortex 2, intel big loser here.

Does your laptop have space for a 2nd HDD, if so then the 120 gig would be the most cost effective (performance vs cost).