Sign in with
Your question

Intel i5 750 3.8ghz question(s)

Last response: in Overclocking
July 26, 2010 11:29:36 PM

Hey guys and gals,

This was my first build and my first time playing around with the bios and overclocking, was hoping the community could take a look at this screen shot the cpu-z and the core temp and tell me if anything looks way off or that I should be concerned about..The timings on my ram apparently came off so in order to not get a BSOD I had to go in and change the timings manually which some how overclocked my comp from the beginning

Also why under the memory tab does it say Channels # Single when its dual channel ram?

Does the voltage/temps look ok? The temps are idle temps after some causual gaming for a couple hours

Windows XP SP3
i5-750 @ 3.8ghz / Thermaltake Silent 1156 CPU Cooler
Gigabyte P55 UD2 mobo
4gb DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Gskill Ripjaws
500gb barracuda
MSI GTS250 Twin Frozr 1gb GDDR3

I noticed once I started playing with RAM settings I lost Turbo, until I made BIOS changes on the Advanced CPU Core Features page:
Intel Turbo Boost Tech. - changed from Auto to Enabled
CPU Cores Enabled - left as All
CPU Multi-Threading - left as Enabled
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) - from Auto to Enabled
C3/C6/C7 State Support - from Auto to Enabled
CPU Thermal Monitor - from Auto to Enabled
CPU EIST Function - from Auto to Enabled
Bi-Directional PROCHOT - from Auto to Enabled

I just want to make sure I'm not burning through this i5 and it will be dead in a 6months lol

More about : intel 750 8ghz question

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
July 27, 2010 1:51:02 AM

In regards to your memory. That should identify dual channel.
Did you install your two dimms in the white slots ?
The first slot closest to the cpu is left open blue
The next is white, the furthest away is white.
m
l
July 27, 2010 2:49:02 AM

good call on that lol dumb mistake i have to correct, how does everything else look? voltage, temps, etc...
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs