Hello, new to laptops. need help.

dixieken

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2009
Hi everyone. I am new to the world of computing and laptops esp. I am looking to purchase one that can do the following:

Burn cds/dvds
Play cds/dvds
wireless internet access, especially for chat on Yahoo Messeger and Facebook
Writing programs with document storage and editing.
Photoshop and digital photo storage/manipulation
some game play(like Call of Duty or MOH), but not main focus.

I am on a limited income(disabled exactly) so i wanna get the most for my money. I can sacrifice some things to gain others, just wondered what would be the most economical setup. The lower the price the better.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Silverion77

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2007
Well first, try looking on Newegg.

Dell and such charge some premiums for customizing and the prebuilts from newegg can chop off a few bucks. I just got an Asus and love it
All laptops now with a drive can Burn and play cds/dvds easy
Look for a laptop with a wireless card built in...its fairly common now

I wouldnt look too much on gaming with a laptop. In general u pay a lot for not much compared to a desktop.

rooseveltdon

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2009
most laptops come with the requirements you are looking for already for light gaming a weak dedicated graphics card or integrated graphics will do (you wont be able to play the games you mentioned on the highest possible settings but they will do the job) laptops are cheap nowdays bestbuy and walmart have some nice deals newegg and tigerdirect have some great deals on pre builts and refurbished laptops so you might want to look there it all depends on your budget really.

dixieken

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2009