Sign in with
Your question

CPU Core Speed

Last response: in Overclocking
July 28, 2010 2:37:42 AM

Hey guys, I have question about the the core speed. No matter how many times I increase the multiplier whether it be x8, x10, or x16, my core speed will always revert back to x4 at 800+ mhz. For example I increased the multiplier to x16 in the BIOS my core speed on CPU-Z would be around 3200+ mhz for a little while and then all of the sudden it goes back to 800+ mhz at x4. Sometimes the core speed and multiplier numbers go up and down at random, so I am wondering if its because it increases when I am doing something that needs the cpu to run faster and then decreases when I do something that doesn't. Maybe I am doing something wrong here. What I'm trying to do is run my cpu at a stable speed of around 3.2 ghz (stock speed) or higher when overclocking. This is my first time trying to overclock or increasing the speed of the cpu. Another thing is on CPU-Z it says core speed is around 840.0 mhz and the multiplier at x4, but on AMD overdrive it shows core speed at 840.0 mhz and multiplier at x16, so I am confused as to how this is possible. I increased the multiplier in the bios and enabled a feature called CPU Overclocking to manual and chose an option on that feature to overclocking 5%. Can anyone help? Here are my build's specs:

CPU: AMD Phenom ii x2 555 BE with stocker cooler
MOBO: ASUS M4A785td-v evo
RAM: G. Skill Ripjaw Series 4gb (2x2gb) DDR3 1333 F3-10666CL8D-4GBRM
PSU: Corsair TX650W
HDD: Maxtor 6L200R0 ATA

Here are some screenshots of CPU-Z and AMD Overdrive:

Thanks guys!

More about : cpu core speed

July 28, 2010 11:15:34 AM

If you go into your motherboard bios, you should try reseting it back to Default settings, there's an option for it somewhere, if there is still problems, then you should return you CPU or motherboard... Hope this helps...
m
l
July 28, 2010 7:30:21 PM