Do I need another adapter to connect the eSATA to my old hard drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

musiccity

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2010
I have never done this before, so I am working from a place of ignorance.

Recently the motherboard in my HP dv9000 went out. (Or so I was told by tech support.)

Someone gave me a Toshiba Satellite A305D. I want to retrieve my data from the HP hard drive and access it on the Toshiba. I have removed the hard drive. I bought an eSATA cable, and I can see the port where it docks into the Toshiba. But do I need another adapter to hook it up to the hard drive?

Thank you.

musiccity

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2010
Thank you for the response.
A couple of more basic questions.

Was my eSATA cable purchase in vain?
When I look for an enclosure, how do I know which one is the right one? Are they pretty universal? Or are there specs I need to look for?

Thanks again.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
In choosing your enclosure in which to mount the old internal HDD, you need to look for three details:

1. Interface between HDD unit and enclosure. What is the HDD type - IDE or SATA - of the old drive from the HP laptop? Whichever it is, that is what you need inside the enclosure to plug in the drive. "Interface" here means the electrical AND mechanical layout of the connectors in the enclosure must match the connectors on the HDD so it can just plug in. Now in your case the old drive came from an HP laptop, and laptop IDE drives certainly are not the same as desktop IDE drives. I am not sure whether the connections on laptop SATA drives are the same as desktop SATA drives. So be sure whether the enclosure is really suited to the LAPTOP version of the drive you have. This MAY also impact the physical layout for how the HDD is mounted securely inside the enclosure.