Pentium IV 2.4 GHz OCed at 2.9 GHz

TGX

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010
HI! :) I'm new in this field (OC) and I'm looking for some advice..
Here's the system configuration on which I try the OC:

Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.4 GHz
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000
Sirtec PSU 400W HPC-400-H12S
1 GB of RAM @ 333 MHz

Now, some concerns.. :D
I OCed the CPU to 2.9GHz and in the BIOS it shows me 46*C temp (with stock cooling (but very clean) I tried SpeedFan but it seems that it doesn't like my CPU very much..

About the RAM, now the frequency is at its maximum (400 MHz)!
Is there a safe, reliable way to know the temperatures and to test the CPU with this OC? (in Windows, everything seems fine, no crashes and stuff)

I don't know what codename model my CPU is.. (northwood or ?)

I OCed the CPU in the following way: In the BIOS, I raised the CPU Host Frequency to 160 from 133 without modifying anything else and now the CPU is at 2.9 GHz and at a temperature (as shown in BIOS) of 42-46 *C..
Well, I don't know what can I say more, so, can you help me please? :D

TGX

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010
So everything is ok, the BIOS shows me the temperature in idle, no? (I've seen the article/guide on temperatures here on Tom's Hardware but I don't understand much of it.. (yes, I know, n00b.. :sarcastic: ) Anyway, I don't know how to test it in full load (a game?) and then see the temperature.. o_O
Remember, it's on stock cooling.. :D

Run Prime95. It will use 100% of the CPU capacity. Then you can monitor the the temperature under load.

TGX

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010
I found out the codename: Prescott
As for Prime95, is it ok to use v25.11?
I currently use ATiTool to overclock my video card and I can see that the CPU is at 100% usage when I run the "Find Max Core" option, can this be a replacement for Prime95 if I leave it running for about 2 hours?
And like I said, I don't know how to see the temperature in Windows without SpeedFan.. :(

TGX

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2010