First Build Please Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

tommytalong

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009
This is the first time i'm going to build my own system and i'd appreciate any help you guys could offer.

So far this is what's on my list:

Mobo: Intel DP45SG
Procc.: Intel Q9550
GPU: ATI 4870
RAM: 2 x Apacer 21GB
PSU: Enermax 625W

I'm going to gut my old system for SATA drives and burners. I live in the Philippines so i'm pretty limited when it comes to choices. All of the parts i've chosen i plan on getting from PC Express, it's a local computer parts supplier. They also have a pricelist online if you're interested in helping me change my choices. I'm trying to keep within a P45,000 budget.

I'm aware the mobo's bios has to be updated before i can utilize the Q9550 but will it even turn on or will it just beep? Can you guys give me fool-proof instructions on how to upgrade the BIOS? the Intel instructions are all foreign to me. It's my first build after all. Do you think any of the parts will cause any problems? I tried looking at the Apacer RAM and it seems to be pegged at 1.5V so it shouldn't clash with the mobo.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

tommytalong

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009
I'm going to be purchasing the parts over the weekend, which is pretty soon so please help if you guys can. I'm burning more than 3 months worth of my salary on this rig (once again i live in the Philippines) so i'd really appreciate any input. Thanks.

ericjohnson1981

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2009
I'm not sure about the mobo but good procie tho. are you using it to play games? I'm pretty sure you are so why not go for the 4870X2 and if you feel like it, go 4GB on your memory. One of the best ones that I can recommend is Corsair Dominator and keep the temperature around 60 celcius for your CPU. Anyway best of luck
smile.gif

tommytalong

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009