I need a little help with compatibility questions...

jerseytiger

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2009
I'm thinking about building my own system and I've never done it before, so I've been doing some research the past few months (well I started at the end of last year, and just picked it up again). I want my computer to be small and neat, so I'm set on a mATX board. Actually I really like the LANBox Lite case and will most likely go with it. The computer will be used for general computing, some CAD and graphics, watching movies, and possibly playing games (now that I would have a computer that could actaully do it). I was set on an ASUS P5Q-EM G45 board and HIS 4850 IceQ4 512MB video card. However, when I was studying the picture of the board I noticed that the ASUS board has a heatsink right behind the PCIe slot, which I can't see how it would not get in the way of the dual slot card. I started to read up a little more on the P5Q-EM board and read that the G45 chipset is not very friendly with newer GPUs. So I dug a little deeper and I read a lot of good things about the Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H, however this board has an nvidia 9400 chipset.

So my question is how will the 4850 GPU act with the nvidia chipset? I have no desire to do crossfire or sli, and being that the board is going to be a mATX there isn't any boards with multiple PCIe 2.0 slots anyway. from what I've read about the HIS 4850 IceQ4 gpu I really like it. It seems to have the reputation as a fast card, that runs quieter than most, and has a very good cooling system. What would the experts on here say as the options to go with, and please try to keep personal brand preferences (ATI vs nvidia) to a minimum, I really want to know if the two will interface well in the system I want to make. Any helpful advise is welcome.

The other key components, if the information is important are:

Corsair 620w PSU
Intel Q9400 CPU

kdes

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2009