False advertisement RAM causes random restarts

tokyotech

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2008
20-227-381-TS

OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227381

I purchased this RAM for my new Core i7 920 build. My mobo defaulted it to 1066 speed with low voltage. So I increased the multiplier and set the voltage to the suggested 1.65 to get up to 1600 speed. I kept on getting error messages during my Windows 7 installation saying that the computer unexpectedly restarted. So I checked the Newegg comments and a ton of people have these BSOD and restart problems because this RAM does not run stable at its advertised speed.

I'm a noob, so I didn't understand all the commenters' tech jargon with all those abbreviations like QPI, XMP, VVT, VDIMM. I also see no way to view my timings on my cheap Foxconn Flamingblade mobo. Can someone walk me through how to slow this RAM down and make it stable?

Thanks.

MaDMagik

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2008
Up up the memory voltage by a notch or two(lets say to 1.68v, 1.7v, 1.73v - dont worry, it wont hurt your ram) and try again, its possible that the mobo doesnt provide full 1.65v to the modules causing instability at said speed.

As for bios settings, heres Windwithme`s review of your mobo with BIOS pictures showing where timings are set etc. - http://forums.tweaktown.com/f19/windwithme-s-core-i7-review-part-7-foxconn-s-flaming-blade-locked-loaded-32626/

tokyotech

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2008
Can I just use my mobo's suggested slow settings while installing my Windows 7? Is that safe? I'm getting a headache from it being half installed. After that, I'll try your suggestion.

I have some additional questions on RAM stability:

1) do I have to increase the clock and the timings together? Or will upping one independently give me some performance boost?

2) How much voltage increase can the RAM handle before frying?

MaDMagik