Sign in with
Your question

What makes a motherboard better?

Last response: in Motherboards
June 25, 2009 4:44:23 PM

Though I have been building my family's gaming towers for many years, I still consider myself a novice in many ways. Take for instance the last system I built for my son. I used an Abit Fatality 925x with an Intel p4 3.4g single core and still DDR2400 (it was a while back, though it's still going strong). No matter what graphics card we have in it, everything happens NOW and the graphics care displays to its very best ability.

Now, in contrast, I have my past two systems, both using Biostar motherboards (TForce's), the first with the same chip as my kid's and the second using an E8400 and gaming Ocz ram. As far as "snap" goes, the kid's system runs as good if not better on some apps than either of mine.

He runs all sorts of garbage running on his system (aim, etc) and has hardly enough hd space at any given time to save a song but still smokes while I have ample hd and far fewer programs.

Everything about my system(s) (in terms of newness and newfangledness)should be superior to his...it aint:( 
Can the mobo make that much difference? Should I look for another cause?

Thanks for your imput

Horace

More about : makes motherboard

June 25, 2009 5:33:06 PM

I think we need full system specs on all three systems to determine that, if you got vista, gfx card can be a very large issue, on xp, something else is going on.
June 25, 2009 5:51:09 PM

the kid's system:

windows xp home
Sapphire x1950 pro pci-e x16 256mb
Rosewill Stallion 450w 12v psu
Intel P4 3.4g Prescott
2gb samsung DDR2400
Abit 925x (Fatality)
Thermaltake Typhoon 120

My current gaming system:

windows xp home
Zotac 8800gt 1gb pci-e 2.0 x16
Rosewill Stallion 500w 12v psu
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale
2gb OCZ 1066 (running at 800; couldn't get the voltage right to run at 1066)
Biostar TP43D2-A7
Dynatron 92mm cpu fan (I know, cheapy, but it cools great)