Sign in with
Your question

Intel Q9550?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
April 27, 2009 11:53:25 PM

I am currently looking for a good deal on the Q9550.
I was debating between the Q6600 and the Q9550. I figured the extra power was enough to justify the extra $80.

I just missed Dells deal on these (something like $203 shipped) and am wondering if anyone knows of any good deals out there right now?
I was planning on purchasing through Newegg ($270), but wanted to see what you guys think.

Also, the entire reason I'm upgrading (currently have a Core 2 Duo 1.86) is because I am a graphic designer and photo retoucher. I use photoshop and illustrator everyday, all day. My current processor just isn't enough power. I get errors (not enough RAM) when trying to apply filters sometimes. I'll check my available ram and thers 1.5gb free. Also when doing a minor edit, I'll watch my CPU jump from 5-10% up to 80%.

My set up:

Windows XP SP3
Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86
GIGABYTE GA-G31m-S2L
3GB of Kingston memory: (1) 2GB stick and (1) 1GB stick. Only because I heard Windows XP can only use 4GB of ram total, and 1GB is reserved for the system. So you only need 3GB. Someone want to correct me on this?
Built-in Graphics Card (Intel G31)
Couldn't tell you what power supply I have. Its been in there for about 5 years and I didn't know computer knowledge then as much as I do now.

More about : intel q9550

a b à CPUs
April 28, 2009 7:57:23 AM

Do you have a budget? You don't have to get a quad-core IMO, when you get something like this:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400

That, like the quad-core you want, also maximizes your motherboard. Yet it consumes less power, and costs only $168 on the egg.

I think you're also not maximizing your RAM because you're using a 2GB and 1GB stick together. IIRC, the 2GB stick has to "slow" itself down so that the 1GB stick can keep up. Here's suggested replacement RAM: