clubf00t

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2010
I'm kind of new to overclocking and whatnot and I'm just curious to see how much performance i could get out of my Q6600 with stock cooling. I did a little tinkering in the BIOS but nothing really major, I just don't want it too crazy with it in case I F'd something up. so my question is can you please look at my CPUID diagnostic report and let me know what else I could do to get the most performance out of my processor? i saved the report as an HTML and uploaded it to my student design host site..heres the report-http://jwsessions.herobo.com/diagnostics.html
please get back to me with some thoughts...thanks

bactrian

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2010

Your VID is better than mine so you might be able to get higher clocks with less vCore.
I think it would be safe to get to at least 3 Ghz with your stock cooler if you have installed it correctly.
Download CoreTemp to monitor temperatures. Don't let your temps get higher than about 62 degrees, specially if you want to run the PC 24/7.
Download Prime95 to stress your CPU after overclocking. Use the Torture Test (Blend test), which stresses both Ram and CPU.
Set your CPU/Ram ratio to 1:1 in BIOS.
Look up your Ram on the vendor's website and search for their recommended voltage (mine is 1.8 volt) and set that in BIOS.
Disable C1E / Speedstep in BIOS.
With my VID, I got a very stable overclock at 1.3 volt to 3.0 Ghz. You might need less core voltage because of your much better VID!

There are people here who are much more experienced than I am, and they will surely improve on my basic advice.

fulle

Distinguished
May 31, 2008
^Running 1:1 or "sync mode" is more stable. I do that initially, and once I find the processor's max stable OC, work on getting more out of the RAM. I think that bac's advise is fine.

fulle

Distinguished
May 31, 2008