Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Safe overclocking amd athlon II x4 620 ?

Last response: in Overclocking
August 3, 2010 8:34:22 AM

Hello, I am new to overclocking and I am curious and want to know if my current setup is safe and will last.

My system specs:
AMD Athlon II X4 620
3.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 337MHz
ASUSTeK Computer INC. M2N68-AM SE2 (AM2)
512MB ATI Radeon HD 4550 (VISIONTEK)

My CPU is constantly hovering around 35 degrees c and barely breaks 40 degrees c

CPU-Z Images

a b À AMD
a b K Overclocking
August 3, 2010 9:41:39 AM

All looks OK what temps do you get when you run Prime 95 and have you run it for long enough to check the stability?
m
l
a b K Overclocking
August 3, 2010 10:19:09 AM

Based on this, I think that is your idle temp (perhaps). Also, i think your clocks are a bit messed up? 340mhz is really low for ram especially DDR2, i would expect at least 800mhz even if it was running at Tri-Channel, since AMD boards don't run tri-channel. Anywho, as simon12 said run prime95 for at least 15 minutes, use a temperature monitoring software and look at the lowest temp (idle) and highest (load) temp. A good software is CoreTemp, http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/ , Prime95 for the load, http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/

After running it for 15 minutes tell us your max temps and idle temps. Also your heatsink would help.

Your max temp or load temp shouldn't pass 71* C otherwise it's to hot. You should either reduce the multiplier to keep it lower, undervolt, or get a better CPU heatsink.

Max temp source: http://products.amd.com/en-na/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=...
m
l
Related resources
August 3, 2010 11:02:51 AM

aznshinobi said: