Building a home File Storage System (server like)

silam

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2009
Ok guys, so I've never built one of these before. I like the look of the HP Media Smart, but I figured I can build one of these for cheaper than I can buy one for HP. I've built a couple of systems and upgraded parts and pieces for many as well, so I'm comfortable and familiar with home PCs.

I just had a 500 GB WD USB drive fail on me and have decided its time to stop messing around and just build the system I want. Right now I'm looking for something that can be on my network, have RAID so I can protect against HDD failure, and a burner would be nice to make copies of media thats on the storage. I've already got a burner so thats taken care of. I'm thinking of going right now with a system that has 2TB of storage (2, 1TB drives in a RAID 1 configuration). I would like to have the ability to expand the HDDs and add 2 more. Gigabit LAN would probably be a plus as well. Here are my thoughts:

2, 1TB WD "green" drives - Reviews for the newer ones look good, lower power usage is a plus
DVD Drive - Already Purchased
2GB Ram - was looking at the G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM right now
Windows Home Server software - not interested in using linux right now

My current dilemmas - The case and all that come with it. I'd like to make something that runs somewhat quietly, and that is small (stylish perhaps, but lets be honest, thats lower on the priority list). Once I choose a case (and mobo etc, I'm assuming I'm best going with a barebones system, but let me know if I'm not), the speed of the processor is the next question, as I have no idea how much speed I will need. I'm assuming one of the factors I also want to look at is wattage.

Any thoughts on case and the issues that follow that?

Cheers!

Get an Antec 300 case with some quiet Scythe 120mm fans.
Antec 300
That would be a very cool solution. Because you are looking at 4 drives and a burner, I don't think any micro-ATX cases would work out.