New to OC'ing

jerkinjohn

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2009
Hello all, I'm actually new to building my own PC all together. About a year and a half ago I built my first PC. The build consists of:

Cooler Master HAF 932 Case

Intel Q6600 Quad Core CPU

Cooler Master V8 CPU Cooler

EVGA 750I SLI FTW Mobo

EVGA 260 SuperClocked GPU

WD Black 1TB HDD

Corsair TX750 W PSU

G.Skill 2X2 Ram Memory

Asus Optical Drive

Currently running Windows XP SP3 32Bit till I upgrade to 7

About a month ago I started having a problem with the system shutting down on me. Long story short I RMA'ed my Mobo after countless hours of trouble shooting. My new Mobo should be getting delivered on Thursday

During the trouble shooting process I did get the PC up and running for about a week. That was after re doing the thermal paste. During that week I attempted to OC my CPU. I did manage to Overclock from 2.4 Ghz to 3.0 Ghz using this guide http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DvuTyVV2BU

After the overclock according to Real Temp my CPU was running at 39c/42c just browsing the web and went as high as 58c while gaming with Crysis! I found this guide http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mkk-H1Rh-IY about CPU temps and according to it I'm okay with my temps.

My question is, once my new mobo shows up and I get this thing back together I plan on overclocking again but the first time I did it I didn't mess with the voltages. I left them alone. Is it important to change the voltages when overclocking and are the setting's that the guy uses in the link above safe?

I tried this overclock also http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNFWG3cgOaM but windows wouldn't boot up so I figured an overclock of 3.5 Ghz was to much or something. As you can see I'm new at this but am learning a lot and am hooked!!! So any advise or ideas would be very much appreciated! Thanks!