I7 930 and Noctua NH-D14

carnedude

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2010
I have tried all sorts of different paste applications and different orientation of the cooler but it seems with a stable 4 ghz O.C. my High temps under Prime 95 get to around 83-85c and with intelburn they get up to 88. I was really expecting better results with this cooler. I have searched all over the net and read countless forum post but I am new to OCing and I am wondering if there are any settings in my Bios I could change that would get it cooler except changing my clock speed, or turning of HT? and still manage a stable OC? My CPU voltage is something like 1.22 can't remember the qpi I think it was something like 1.28? I am using the 19 multiplier and 210 blk. If you need more info let me know I will reboot and write it down.

whatupharry

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2010
I was thinking about getting the Noctua for some moderate OCing. I think it'll still do good but having a HSF that can handle a heavier OC is always better. Those are some good numbers for the OC, not sure if the problem is the cooler or something else.

Odd but I'm no overclocking pro at all so maybe someone else has a better idea. What case and gpu do you have?

carnedude

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2010
no I should clarify that I guess. I only have 2 gtx 470's one is the evga and the other is msi. My idle temps are 45c and the room temp is 70 f give or take. Cable management is near perfect.

juggy199

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2010
The D14 is a push-pull, correct? Is it going towards the back of your case or the top? Have you tried re-seating the D14? Also what kind of paste are you using and did you put just 1 pea size drop?

carnedude

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2010