Sign in with
Your question

Considering OCing (first ever OC)

Last response: in Overclocking
August 5, 2010 9:25:51 AM

I am new to OCing but wanted to try it out and a gpu seemed easiest to overclock for a beginner so I overclocked my graphics card, but noticed it made little to no difference or actually made games run worse so I tried using this program that came with my motherboard called Control Panel (MSI) and overclocked my CPU a slight bit (roughly 3001 from about 2900) and noticed a higher framerate which has intrigued me. So now I am wanting to get into overclocking the cpu and I was hoping you guys could give me some help and advice on it. I dunno if it is even worth OCing with my setup but I have listed my rigs details below and I want to know what you guys think. Should I OC or not? and if I should can I get some help and advice.

MSI 870A-G54
AMD Athlon II 635 Propus 2.9 Ghz
Corsair DDR3 RAM 1600 4GB (2x2GB)
OCZ ModXstream 700 watt modular power supply
PNY brand Nvidia Geforce GTS 250 1 GB graphics card
500 GB Seagate Barracuda SATA hard drive
80 GB Seagate Barracude IDE hard drive
Asus dvd rom drive (dunno if you needed to know that just figured might as well)
HEC Blitz case
and my cpu fan is a Zalman CNPS 7500 CU-LED fan which usually keeps my cpu at 41c on idle

More about : ocing

a b K Overclocking
August 5, 2010 11:37:51 AM

Go on if you consider yourself an enthusiast.

IMO 10 to 15% oc on our processor would be god. Do more if you feel the need for speed.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
August 5, 2010 11:53:08 AM

The Athlon should overclock quite well just make sure load temps stay below 65C (60C preferred).
m
l
Related resources
a c 100 K Overclocking
August 5, 2010 3:09:21 PM