I need the CPU experts help

tobensg

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2009
Hi, these systems range from $900 to $1500. Is $1500 your budget? You will can save money by building your own rig. Set your budget first.

randolph4233

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2009
Thanks for the responses! I would like to stay around $1,000-$1,300, but had you said the more expensive one was the best, I wouldn't mind paying a bit more to get a great computer. Will those computers run Crysis on high settings? I would build my own computer because it sounds fun and all, but I've never done it before and I've never seen it done either. It makes me a little nervous when I'm dealing with expensive parts and I'm not 100% on what I'm doing.

randolph4233

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2009

Since you asked and probably don't know that much I'd suggest you build a cheap entry level PC before considering putting together a higher end one ... if your on your own with the project.

If you have a friend who is reasonably knowledgeable and is prepared to help you then have a go.

Otherwise buy one from a good shop and customised to your specs.

For $1300 US you should be able to get a good quad core PC ( with a 9550 / 9650 ) with a decent graphics setup and a good monitor.

Hope this helps.

You are going to pay a premium for a good gaming PC. If you want to play Crysis on high you will want something in the GTX260/4870 range.

iBuyPower makes good stuff, but you can built it yourself much cheaper. I'd look down that road if you can. It would be a learning experience for you. PC's are SO much easier to put together these days, you don't have to low level format drives, or manually enter the HD information, or set dozens of motherboard jumpers.

Just make a thread and put a PC together and check the parts with us and built you own. vista is all but simple to install. It's WAY easier than XP.

TechTony

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2009