Athlon 445 + Asus M4A785-M Overclocking suggestions

sk_ltran

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2010
Hi guys, I'm kinda new to overclocking, and from all the reading and research I've done so far, this is what I ended up with.

I just wanted to see if this was the best way to go about my setup. Also, I'm wondering if my CPU core temps are too high under full stress testing.

I also am not sure how the memory to FSB ratio setup works on my motherboard and what the best way to go about it (or just let it automatically set it?). Here are screens of my bios and cpu-z/hwmonitor:

ranaoc.jpg

memclock.jpg

20100807144932.jpg

20100807144924.jpg

20100807144914.jpg

Thanks for any help :)

green300

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2010
Max. temp for the C3 440 is 75c, so yes, you are starting to get too hot.

http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=698&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=&f11=&f12=

The core temps are what's most important, so at 65c you've been safe. If your going to run it at that high of an oc or higher I would definitely get an A/M cooler!

You could lock the PCIE Overclock to 100 as well as try to lower HT Link Speed 1 notch.

Everything looks good, nice oc with the low vcore.

My question to you, have you tried to unlock it ?

sk_ltran

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2010
thanks for the advice! quick question - what exactly does HT Link speed do? what's the difference between 1800 mhz and 2000 mhz? (1800 is one notch down).

yeah, i've tried to unlock it. no dice. just keeps rePOSTing no matter what settings i use :\. i even tried to turn off some of the cores and keep the L3 cache, still just rePOSTs.

i'll pick up a better cooler, too. thanks!

green300

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2010
what's the difference between 1800 mhz and 2000 mhz?