Sign in with
Your question

[New System Build] Thoughts, comments, advice? (first time builder)

Last response: in Systems
February 2, 2009 3:06:44 AM

Hello everybody,

As the title states, this is my first time building a computer. I am in the middle of a computer hardware and software essentials course at my college, and we have taken apart / put together several computers. I have taken great intrest in building my own computer for several obvious reasons (college student so I'm not exactly rich =P ) and I am thinking about possible careers in the computer industry.

I have been interested in computers ever since I took our older computer apart and added a new CD/DVD burner and video card when i was 15 (19 now) and since then i have added some components to my laptop, and fixed one regular xbox, and two xbox 360's by myself.

So, with all the boring backstory done, I have created a build from parts all off newegg.com (I have heard good things.) I have several things i would like looked over.....

1. Is everything compatible? This is my first major worry, components not working with eachother, is everything going to work when i put my dream box together?

2. Longevity. Obviously i would rather not have to buy new components every two months to keep up with games now days, so how powerful will this PC be? I will mainly be playing WoW and some CoD4, and also Left 4 Dead.

3. Power. Will these games run well? My laptop, an Alienware(lol) M5500 runs WoW pretty crappy. I drop to about 3-2 FPS while doing 25 man raids. Now for this new computer I'm not asking for 100 FPS in all situations, but something around 30ish or so.

So, with all that aside, here is the build:

Case: COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Retail