Sign in with
Your question

Suggestions for using an Intel server motherboard in a desktop?

Last response: in Motherboards
July 2, 2009 4:57:02 AM

Hello all,

I'm a bit new to the PC building and modding game and only have several under my belt so far. That's probably why I didn't realize there was something different about this motherboard until I went looking for a diagram, drivers, and information.

So from what I can tell, I have an Intel server motherboard with an LGA775 Socket. It's features are very similar to this model:

http://reviews.cnet.com/motherboards/intel-desktop-board-dp43tf/4507-3049_7-33176017.html

And here is a gallery of photos I took of my own board:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/quantummacs/sets/72157620841762832/

But for the life of me, I can't identify this board. I have Googled every number on it and come up empty handed. I scoured the Intel site and could not turn up anything, even a search using the AA number, which is clearly printed on the board as AA C42312-100. The other numbers on that sticker are 103620 R (103620 is an out of production Intel RAID controller), and IWWP34603642.

On the back of the board is printed:

LGRVP EV
FAB A
Reference and Validation Board A
Intel LGA775 Processor/ Alderwood Chipset.
Intel Confidential

Anyway, so I think my questions are:

Can anyone please give me some advice on how to identify what type of motherboard I have here? I'm totally perplexed at this point and have spent several evenings trying, I'm stuck.

Is it feasible to use this motherboard in a standard ATX PC that I am trying to build? If so, is the setup different than that of a standard desktop motherboard? I thought for sure I had it set up right but it wouldn't post or do anything; when I removed power the fan would spin briefly and the LCD would flash "00".

If you could help me with this issue I would be most pleased and grateful. Thanks for any and all advice. :??: 

July 2, 2009 5:41:48 AM