Sign in with
Your question

CPU or Motherboard DOA?

Last response: in Motherboards
July 3, 2009 11:35:14 PM

One of them has to be and this is why I rule out everything else:

First I plugged everything in, got all the hardware in place, put all the PSU's chords in order, tried turning it on: nothing.

I thought the PSU was DOA but learned otherwise when I did the paperclip trick and the fan to the PSU started spinning, plugged in other hardware and saw that it gave it power. (CD drive, multiple fans, HDD), but when I take the paperclip out, and plug it into the mobo: nothing. Nothing at all.
That being said, I have taken the mobo out and placed it on a non conducting surface to see if it was the cases screws that could be doing the damage.
Still nothing, no PSU fan spin OR CPU fan spin. I read somewhere the CPU could cause this. Sounds to me like the mobo is DoA, but this is my first build. I've done a lot of research and was hoping nothing like this would happen but I don't know what I could have done. Please help with some closure or other ideas. Thanks.

More about : cpu motherboard doa

a c 229 V Motherboard
July 3, 2009 11:39:01 PM

It would have really been helpful to have a list of components. You didn't forget to connect the CPU ATX power cable (4 or 8-pin)?
July 3, 2009 11:43:25 PM

I connected all of the connectors necessary, including the 4 pin ATX

Forgot my spec's, they are:

Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P
AMD Phenom II x3 720 BE
8GB Mushkin DDR3 1333
Corsair 650XT 650 Watt
Sapphire ATI Radeon 4850 PCI Express 2.0
Sony DVD Drive
Western Digital 500 GB SATA
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a c 229 V Motherboard
July 3, 2009 11:46:13 PM

What's installed? CPU, video card and one memory module?
July 3, 2009 11:47:13 PM

I've mixed it around, but yea the original few tests were one stick of RAM, the CPU + HSF, the video card
July 3, 2009 11:49:16 PM