Sign in with
Your question

Overclock/ max potential for e7300

Last response: in Overclocking
August 11, 2010 8:47:40 AM

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to overclocking so I need some advice. I own a intel duo core e7300 cpu and a gts 250 but i want to get the most out of my cpu before i touch the gpu. I read online that my cpu has massive OC potential which got me excited because if done right, I can prolong buying a new cpu in the future. Going forward, I'm only playing Blizzard games. My motherboard is a ECS GF7050VT-M, which i read online isn't ideal for overclocking. I'm using the stock cooler. I also read i had to go to the bios and adjust the multiplier??? kinda overwhelmed with OC as it seems rather complicated. Should i stop at around 3.5ghz? any tips and hints? Thanks!
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
August 11, 2010 7:53:07 PM

You cant adjust the multiplier on those chips, you have to raise the FSB, and you will probably want to lower the RAM multiplier so it doesnt make your RAM unstable, and you will also probably need to raise the core voltage. Be careful and monitor your temps because the stock cooler espically on those 45nm chips (if i recall correctly) is rather small (and stock coolers suck anyhow)
m
l
August 11, 2010 8:53:44 PM

hmmm so should i shoot for around 3.2ghz since i have a stock cooler, or is it possible for me to go higher if i be extra careful lol
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
August 11, 2010 9:10:25 PM

3.3 should be stable enough for you on stock.

Further risk is involved if you go up.
m
l
August 11, 2010 9:46:29 PM

what would be the equivalent modern cpu by today's standards if i do indeed OC to 3.3?
m
l
a b K Overclocking
August 12, 2010 12:53:17 AM

in c2d e8600. 3.33.
m
l
August 12, 2010 3:03:03 AM