Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking pentium 4 3ghz

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
August 11, 2010 5:25:56 PM

Hi I completely new to overclocking, but have decided to use my current (and very slow) pc to learn how to overclock a pc.

I have read some guides, and hAave learned l little about how to overclock a CPU and a GPU.

but I am a completely novice, and i have no idea if i can overclock my current pc.
my system is this:

Asus 478 p4c800-e deluxe (intel i478p chipset) bios 1023.001
pentium 4 3ghz

Radeon HD 3850 AGP

2 gb pc2700 166mhz ram (kingston)

Windows 7 32bit

so a little help on what and how to overclock my CPU would be appreciated.

don't know about the RAM (sounds pretty complicated)

my GPU is pretty straight forward as i will use ATI overdrive (besides i suspect the AGP 8 slot is a bottleneck anyway, as well as my CPU)

P.S. If anyone could help on how to monitor cpu heat, and some advice on cooling (also for cpu's like i5 750 or i7 870), and some benchmark tools would be great!

More about : overclocking pentium 3ghz

a b K Overclocking
August 23, 2010 4:49:03 PM

Dude, here.

Your oc depends on motherboard. Do you have an oc compatible motherboard?

Oc'ing p4 isn't a problem. if i have that proc, i can with my mb oc it till 3.5ghz safely on stock cooling.
a b K Overclocking
August 23, 2010 4:51:23 PM

Yo have a proc with pin, i.e the better one are pin-less (lga 775).

your board i guess supports oc'ing. but its manual, and you have to read more to get it in.
August 23, 2010 5:53:28 PM

TBH, It depends on which P4 you have, what type of cooling, etc. If you have a northwood B (2.4ghz) it is definitely possible, the A was a little wekaer and I believe the C is about on par with the B. It has been so long since I dealt with this chip/chipset that it is a little vague to me. I will try to find the sticky that used to be in the forums dedicated to the P4.