External enclosure setup how to

loga8n

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
hi, i only have a toshiba a505 laptop which has run out of storage space, i have no desktop
i was wondering how to set up an external enclosure,
i am currently looking at this enclosure
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817173043

and will also get an 1.5tb internal hd, dont know which one yet,
but my question is can i put the internal hard drive into the enclosure, then reformat the drive to make it work
or does the internal hd need to be reformat inside from a desktop?
i am new at this stuff and not that tech savy
i would appreciate any help, thanks.

Solution
Have a friend who boots to a USB thumb drive (has Linx OS on it). But Myself Have not set up esata/usb boot drive - so no help there.

If running windows 7, Win 7 has a good "backup program". You can (1) create an image file and place it on your external drive and (2) create a boot CD/DVD to recover and re-install the Image onto the main HDD should you replace it or to recover froma a failure. If Not Win 7, then there are some 3rd party programs that will also do this.

Yes, that one will work for a 3 1/2 in HDD.
The best option is to plug it into the esata port on the side of your laptop (verify that you infact do have a esata port, Believe the A505 does, I have the A305-xxxxx.
esata is much faster than the USB port. From there you should be able to go into disk manager and partition/format the drive. I have that enclosure w/1 TB segate drive. use NTFS, not fat to format drive.

loga8n

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
thanks for the fast reply
yes my laptop has an esata port
so all i have to do is put the hard drive into the enclosure, connect via usb/esata, format drive to ntsf
then it should work,
i also wonder can i run the operating system or boot from external enclosure, or backup my laptop hd image to external enclosure, instead of just using it as storage drive?