Your question

HeavyLoad + Q9550 = Temperature?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Shutdown
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
May 4, 2009 4:28:52 AM

I built my own system a few weeks ago and installed the stock heatsink wrong. My computer shut down a couple times when loading Crysis and I had it fixed. Now I idle around 40C and when I play games I am around 55C.

I am new to cooling techniques and was wondering, WITHOUT overclocking, what is a healthy idle temp. for the Q9550? When I run the HeavyLoad prog, for a 2.5 minutes, I hit 72C (not right away, toward the end). Is this too hot? Even though I am not overclocking should I buy something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

My questions:

1. Do you think there was any damage done to my CPU the 4-5 times it shut down before I had the heatsink attached right?

2. What should my temp. be when running HeavyLoad for a few minutes?

3. What is a HEALTHY idle temp. for the Q9550? Meaning, one that will ideally enable the CPU to have a long life (without OC'ing)?

4. Is TJ Max just the temperature at which the CPU will shut down automatically?

5. Would getting the Xigmatek cooler above enable longer life out of my CPU? Is it adequate if I DO decide to OC in the future?

Any help/insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

More about : heavyload q9550 temperature

May 4, 2009 4:38:48 AM

the Xigmatek would be a good investment no matter what. will significantly lower your temps as compared to the stock heatsink. I can't really say what is normal, as I have an AMD processor, but 72C does sound quite high. 40C idle sounds OK, but 72C for a stress test just sounds bad to me. Hopefully someone will have more understanding of the Q9550 than I.
May 4, 2009 4:49:56 AM

I have a Q9550. But WCed ... so my temps are really lower. I load @ 40-45c with prime95

This Xigmatek can really help your temp to go down quite a bit.