Sign in with
Your question

First time overclocker here. Please help me OC my Intel Q6700

Last response: in Overclocking
August 12, 2010 6:30:21 AM

So, as you can see, I am new at this. I would like to attempt to overclock my CPU to a *safe* speed.

My motherboard is a gigabyte EP45-UD3L.

My CPU is an Intel q6700, (engineer sample, my brother in law is a design engineer at Intel and gives me a new CPU every couple years or so). 6 gigs of RAM. Windows 7 Ultimate.

my fan is here

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

my motherboard has the "intelligent tweaker" feature

the screens can be seen here

any help would be greatly appreciated! I guess I need some diagnostic tools like everest, memtest 86, etc?

thank you so very much. Again, I am not looking to break any records or do anything insane...just get the CPU up to the highest level of performance that can be attained safely with reliability.
a c 172 à CPUs
a b å Intel
a c 197 K Overclocking
August 12, 2010 6:53:14 AM

This should be your first stop.
Core2 Overclocking Guide
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/259899-11-core-over...

Next stop:
Shadow's Gigabyte motherboard OC guide:
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/page-245679_11_0.ht...
It's for an EP35-DS3L but all the Gigabyte Core2 BIOS's are similar.

Go through the guides. Then take your core voltage off Auto and set your memory voltage to factory recommended values. Change the System Memory Multiplier from AUTO to 2.00, 2.00B, or 2.00D - whichever you need to set the Memory Frequency to twice the FSB. Then when you increase the FSB, the memory clock will rise in in proportion with it. At an FSB of 266 MHz, your memory clock should be at 533 MHz.

Download CPU-Z to check your FSB:RAM ratio. It should be a 1:1 ratio.