Sign in with
Your question
Solved

OC E8400

Last response: in Overclocking
August 12, 2010 3:16:07 PM

Hello,

I am new to the world of Overclocking. I have a setup that I'm fairly certain will handle it well, but I don't want to chance burning up my CPU. I have an E8400 3.0 GHZ dual core processor with stock Intel fan (which I would like to OC to 4.0), an EVGA 790i Ultra SLI motherboard, 4 GB of 1800 MHZ DDR3 OCZ Ram (Nvidia certified), and an EVGA GTX 275 1792MB DDR3 video card. What would be the best method to OC my system without getting my voltage and temperature into the unsafe range? Thanks in advance!

More about : e8400

a b K Overclocking
August 12, 2010 6:21:19 PM

Start by reading randomizer's guide here. It will help you with the terminology and various BIOS settings to safely OC your system. :) 
m
l
a b K Overclocking
August 12, 2010 8:11:05 PM

To Start, i don't think that overclocking that E8400 to 4.0 would be a good idea on the Intel Stock cooler, those things are not suited for medium-high to high overclocks. I would say that the safest bet would be to go to 3.6 with stock Intel cooler. As treefrog said, use that guide for overclocking, it is a great guide that has helped out many-a-overclock.
m
l
Related resources
a b å Intel
a c 105 K Overclocking
August 12, 2010 8:29:39 PM

^ +1

I seriously doubt you will get to 4ghz with stock cooling. At least not safely.
m
l
August 13, 2010 7:58:36 PM

Okay,