Sign in with
Your question

GTX 460 low fps

Last response: in Overclocking
August 12, 2010 4:06:59 PM

So guyz, i recently upgraded from a Geforce 9800GT to a GTX 460 ... but the thing is i'm getting really low fps in games like Crysis and bad company 2. In crysis, i'm getting the same FPS as i used to get with my old 9800GT, and in BC2, i'm getting like a 3FPS increase. CS:s is also getting me a 5FPS increase.

I also tried games like Metro 2033 in DX11, and it is running flawlessly, like above 40 FPS on High settings. In uningine heaven, everything turned up, tesselation=normal, no AA ... i'm getting a score of 900 ... Crysis warhead is also running a lot better on this card ...

So guyz, why are some games running much, much worse than others ... ? Also, when i first installed the driver and tried sonic sled demo, i was getting less than 10FPS, reinstalled driver and now i'm getting above 35 FPS ...

PC Spec:

Windows 7 (I've been using this Window for like 7 months, would a fresh install help?)
AMD X3 8450
EVGA Geforce GTX 460 769MB (i'm using the only driver available for this card)
3GB DDR2
500GB

More about : gtx 460 low fps

a c 124 U Graphics card
a c 100 K Overclocking
August 12, 2010 4:15:13 PM

Could be that you're accidentally forcing settings through like a high amount of AA. Some games ignore it anyway, like Metro 2033, but others won't and then you get a huge performance hit. So yeah, double check that. As for drivers, did you make sure to do it properly? Basically you first delete drivers, then run driver sweeper, then a registry cleaner, then install the new one. Make sure any onboard video drivers are gone too (if applicable)
m
l
August 12, 2010 4:26:26 PM

wolfram23 said: