Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Coolermaster Hyper TX3 - how to apply paste? Just to rails?

Last response: in Overclocking
August 12, 2010 7:25:07 PM

Hi. I'm seeing conflicting advice on how to apply thermal paste. I don't want to start another battle in a greater war, but I'm wondering what to do regarding applying the grease to my TX3 on an i7-860 CPU.

Arctic Silver (I''m using 5) has its own instructions, but I am afraid they won't work since the heatsink has 3 rails, and there is a pretty big gap on either side of each rail.

The Arctic Silver pdf for i7's says to apply 1 line, vertically in the middle of the CPU. But that seems like it would only affect one rail on the TX3. It also says NOT to spread, but yes to twisting one or two degrees.

So should I do 3 really thin vertical stripes? Just the one?

Any advice will be helpful as this is my first time (well, it's the second, since the first time I botched installing the stock fan that came with the CPU)...

Thanks in advance!
August 12, 2010 8:10:48 PM

put a pea size glob right in the middle.. that way when you put the heatsink on it'll spread out.. they dont want you to spread it because when you do that then put the heatsink on there.. the pressure from the heatsink is going to push out the paste even more.. and if it blobs out and gets all over your motherboard.. then you gotta big mess..ect..ect.. so ya.. just a pea size glob in the middle.. then throw your heat sink on..
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !

Best solution

August 12, 2010 9:35:55 PM

If you would check the link that saint posted the problem with a small pea in the middle is that it doesn't completely cover the CPU. The method that I seen works for heatpipes is to apply thermal paste in gaps so that its an even surface and then install two small lines of thermal paste about an inch apart so that you get full coverage. The link discusses several different methods for each type of heatsink.
August 12, 2010 11:20:19 PM