Sign in with
Your question

New Processor need to update BIOS

Last response: in CPUs
May 4, 2009 11:28:21 PM

Hello I am new at adding a new processor. I just bought a new Intel Core 2 quad q9650 for my Promagix E2230.

My specs of right now is

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 / 2.67 GHz

Memory: 4 gigs of Ram

Mainboard: NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI 1066 MH

Graphics: Nvidia 280

I have never updated the BIOS on my computer and either do I know how or were to start. I realy dont want to screw anything up. At first when I put in my new processor, I was expecting it to be pretty easy in terms of plug in and play. But that wasn't the case, my computer screen just stayed black but my computer was running just fine. So I went searching and found out that I need to update my BIOS.

So how do I update my BIOS and wear do I start.

Thank you

More about : processor update bios

May 5, 2009 12:11:19 AM

First of all put your older cpu back in,then get out the cd/dvd that came with your mobo and check out the contents there will either be a flash type utility or a text file containing a list of the cd's contents,if your board is an ASUS board it will have an asus update proggie on the cd install it and follow the directions,,OR you can go to your mobo's home page download the latest bios and extract it to a XXXX.BIN file and install from from that file,,after installation enter the bios usually the delete key upon boot and set things the way you want them...:) 
May 5, 2009 1:07:52 PM

Here my story thus far.

When I put back the old cpu I still used the new stock fan. When I checked the temps they were running at 55 c, so I decided to put my old fan in because well its been working with me since 2 years ago. After that weird stuff starts to happen. But I did manage to update BIOS before this though.