Sign in with
Your question

First Build - Install Aftermarket Heatsink?

Last response: in Overclocking
August 15, 2010 2:27:30 PM

Hi all, this is my first time building a computer and I was wondering if you all think I should install an aftermarket heatsink or stay with the stock heatsink. I am a bit concerned with the thermal paste application and I don't want to screw anything up. The stock heatsink comes with the thermal paste already applied.

I might try overclocking if I feel it is 99 percent safe later on down the road but I figured I could always buy and install a heatsink then and the only thing it would cost me is some work with pulling out the motherboard and re-assembling.

What do you think? If you think I should get an aftermarket, please recommend some budget ones ~$50 or less that are good quality.

Also please recommend some thermal paste as I will need this in any case as the stock cooler may need re-seating.

Here is the build:

Asus VH242H 23.6" 1080p LCD
Antec 300 Case
Western Digital Black Caviar 500 Gb
Microsoft Comfort Curve Keyboard 2000 OEM
Athlon II X4 635 2.9 GHz Processor
Asus Radeon HD EAS5770 1 Gb Video Card
2 x 2 Gb G.Skill DDR3-1333 RAM
2 x Cooler Master 120 mm LED fan
BFG GS-550 Power Supply
Asus M4A77TD Motherboard
Samsung 22X SATA DVD Writer OEM
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit OEM
August 16, 2010 7:16:07 AM

i have also got that cpu and mine is running at 3.5ghz on the stock cooler and its still really cool
m
l
a b K Overclocking
August 16, 2010 12:59:35 PM

^ Really? What are your load temps? Those AMD HSFs must be good.

Hello, If you want to have fun with OCing by not having to worry about temps much then get an aftermarket cooler. Also it will allow you to go a lot higher which is always fun.