Forum Experts vs Tom's Hardware's Experts

sleepychink125

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2009
I am a first time builder, planning on buying parts within the week. I've read almost all of the tom's hardware articles for "bang for buck" pc builds. I would like to see if I might get better advice by listening to TH or you guys at the forums.

I've narrowed down some of my components down based on tom's articles. (X means I've pretty much decided on it)

Component------------------------------Model----------------------------------------------Price (USD)

X CPU -------------------------Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz------------------------------73

CPU Cooler-------------------------------- XIGMATEK Dark Knight--------------------------------------50

Motherboard----------------GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P----------------------------------------135-20=115

X RAM-------------------------G.SKILL (2 x 2 GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)---------------------------45

Graphics---------------------SAPPHIRE 100265L Radeon HD 4850 512MB---------------------------150

X Case-------------------Antec Three Hundred (sounds like the best according to Tom's) -----------60

PSU -------------------------Antec EA650 650W ATX12V -------------------------------------$60

What I do on a PC:
I consider myself pretty tech savvy. I do the usual email, surfing, movie watching. I also game (not hardcore-ly) but thats because I didn't have a computer like the one above. I play games at a 1620x1050 rez. Spend about 4-5 hrs a day on comp. Obviously, the better stuff is more costly, I am a huge advocate from maximizing my dollar. I will pay more for better equipment but the cost MUST justify it.

Question:
1. Cooler- Is this XIG DK the best for what its price/what I need?
2. Can I play Crysis on 1620x1200 on high with what I have? Also, how much should I expect to be able to OC my ram, CPU, and GPU as a first time OC'er?