Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Keep my Dark Knight, or replace it when I sell comp?

Tags:
  • Heatsinks
  • Cooling
  • New Build
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
August 16, 2010 2:46:28 PM

Hey all!

I am selling my current rig this week, and have all the parts for a new build to replace it. Well, except a CPU HSF.

The system I am selling has a Xigmatek Dark Knight on the e8400.

If I include that part, the buyer is adding $20 to the selling price. If I keep it for myself and put the stock intel cooler back on it, I lose that $20, but get to put the Dark Knight on my new PIIx4 955.

Couple of things:

1.) I'm new to AMD, will the Xigmatek Dark Knight fit the AM3 socket?

2.) Is this just a good chance to buy a different cooler? The DK has served me well enough though so I know it's solid.

3.) If I sell the system with the cooler I don't have to install the stock intel before selling, and that's one less thing to install during the building process.

4.) Any cooler suggestions? I hear the Hyper 212+ get tossed around a lot. It's only $30 on amazon. Is it better than the Dark Knight? As far as ease of installation goes, I see many many good reviews for the Arctic Cooling freezer 7 series. Plus it doesn't require a backplate installation. Anyone have any experience with this cooler?

Thanks for the suggestions in advance all!
~xRome

More about : dark knight replace sell comp

August 16, 2010 5:10:47 PM

Clarifying my question here...

1.) Keep the Xigmatek Dark Knight for myself, install it on my new AMD 955, and reinstall the stock intel HSF on the computer I'm selling

2.) Sell the computer with the Dark Knight (for the extra $20) and buy a replacement cooler

-Cooler Master Hyper 212+
-Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2

Thoughts?
m
l
a b K Overclocking
August 16, 2010 5:56:26 PM

go with the 212+
m
l
Related resources
August 16, 2010 11:20:32 PM

jonpaul37 said:
go with the 212+

Any particular reason?
m
l
a c 183 K Overclocking