New i7 PC crashing - Memtest failing - confirming faulty RAM?

doakwolf

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
Hi all,

Tonight I started playing CoD4 on my new PC and it froze only a few seconds into the game. Re-booted and tried again. Same deal. Loaded the game in safe mode (lowest graphics settings in history) and the same thing happened. Freeze + reboot.

So I ran Memtest86. It got 7% through first test and froze. That is, the timer stopped on 4 seconds and was unresponsive except the little cursur was still flashing in the top-left corner. I figured it might just be taking it's time but it hadn't progressed after 10 mins so I rebooted and tried the following tests...

I tested each RAM stick 1x1. All OK - Memtest ran fine.

I tested 1x RAM stick in each of the 3 slots (channel 1). All OK.

Then tested 2 RAM sticks together and it got about 10% through and the PC rebooted.

Prime95 runs OK. FutureMark Vantage runs fine and it scores quite well.

Do I have faulty RAM?

Relavent PC specs:

Asus P6T Deluxe (with latest BIOS)
Intel i7 920
Corsair XMS3 (TR3X6G1600C8) 1600MHz (currently running @ 1066MHz by 'default')
OCZ 850w PSU
ATI 4890

I've tried with both the 'auto' settings in BIOS (RAM speed being 1066) and I've also tried manually setting the RAM speed to 1600. Both settings give the same result in both CoD4 and Memtest86.

Any ideas?

Jero :)

First off, check the memory voltage setting in the bios. You may need to bump up the voltage manually to 1.8-2.2. Check the specs for your memory before setting the voltage. Most x58 chipset boards run the ram at 1066, unless you're overclocking. You can also check for bios updates for your board, but be careful flashing, or you could end up with a dead board.

doakwolf

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
Thanks for the advice. I'll check the voltages tonight. It's currently set to 'auto' (like most everything else) so I'll have a look at manually setting them.