Dienekes78

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2012
Four years ago I and a friend built what I thought was a good gaming machine around an ASUS P5E3 premium motherboard and a Yorkfield 2.83 Ghz quad processor (LGA 775). Just recently I had heat problem when the CPU fan (Freezer Pro 7) seized and now have either a motherboard failure or CPU (potentially both). I'm checking to see if the failure is just the CPU or motherboard (or both). Assuming that it's just the CPU that got cooked. Is there anything in on themarket CPU's that would fit the socket that is better/faster than the Yorkfield? Or prehaps a less expensive option (I'm waiting for Sandybridge before I do a complete technology reflresh) that would give me equal or near equal perfromance? While I'm not a total Newb, I am no hardware maven either so I may need some explanation with your recommendation.....

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Your waiting for Sandy Bridge? It's been out for like a year now, and it's successor Ivy Bridge is only 2 months away.

Anyways, no the socket is obsolete, your best bet would be a used Q9400/Q9550 etc, but I doubt you could find one under $200.

You could get a modern cpu, mobo and 8GB of DDR3 for $200.

Dienekes78

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2012
Sorry for dyslexic fingers, I meant Ivy Bridge. As to the rest of your message, I have been looking at an alternative starting with an i5 2500 (already got 8 gis of Corsair CMX4GX3M2a1700C9 - 1600 Mhz 9-9-9-24 memory) to couple with a ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 MB as an alternative since now I can no longer wait for Ivy Bridge. There will always be someting newer onthe horizon - as waiting is no lnger an option, I guess I should just press on - was kind of tryig to have cake and ice cream too by seeking a cheap replacement for the 775 cpu to tide me over. Just exporing alternatives. I got $1K to work with and all I need to replace is the CPU, MB and potentailly memory and a SSD.... Something like the folowing seems in order