Last year I bought myself a nice system with the following specs:
- Antec TruePower 750W ATX23
- Gigabyte EX58-UD4P X58
- Intel i7 920
- Ram D3 6GB 1333-777 K3 COR
- Samsung 750 GB SAT2 HD753LJ
- XFX 1GB D5 X HD4890 XXX R
- Sams 22x DL R/W AT SH-S222A BlB

Since I hate lag (and especcially long copy-paste times), I decided to order 2 new hard disks and placing them in a raid 0 config.
(I ordered 2 Samsung 1 TB SAT2 HD103SJ)
Now heres my 'problem' : Its my first time configuring a raid 0 setup so i don't really know all the steps I have to undertake to complete this setup.
How to configure my BIOS and such is not the main problem (can be found in my manual + youtube), it's merely a problem of installing my drivers for the raid 0 config. and such ( can I install them from a mem. stick? Do I have to install them during the installation of my OS or can it be done afterwards? .. )

BTW: I will install Windows 7 Home x64 as an OS

Thanks in advance!

More about : raid

August 18, 2010 3:18:34 PM

Installing the drivers is a pretty painless thing to do. Just download the correct drivers for whichever controller you're going to use and put them on a flash drive, CD, floppy, etc. If, when preparing your hard drive(s), Windows 7 doesn't recognize your RAID drives, then it will ask for the drivers.
a c 353 G Storage
August 18, 2010 3:53:49 PM

Should not have to install drivers, windows 7 is very good and will install the correct driver for your Raid 0 configuration. (NOT like Windows XP and using the F6 to install driver)

Recommendation: when you enter the setup for your raid0 drives. Do not select the entire drive for the raid0 strip. Select 100 to 200 gigs and set the strip size. This will be for your operating system and programs. The select the remainder of the HDD(s) for a 2nd array. This will be for your Data/files (Note you can make additional partitions using windows disk management.