Q6600 + 1066mhz ram

Ok, i know you will get this question all the time! But my heads in bits looking through the threads lol

I have a

Q6600
Corsair Twin2X 4GB 1066Mhz
ASUS P5Q-E

OK, simply put with the CPU at stock speed the RAM wont run at 1066mhz right?

I am on my laptop and not the PC atm as the PSU died and getting repaired so i cant give details as i am still new to this lol

Awhile ago i checked CPU-Z and my RAM was running at something like 400mhz x2 = 800mhz? I thought WTF? i got 1066mhz!

So, i OCed my Q6600 to 3.6ghz, 400x9, set the RAM to 1066mhz and the RAM VOLTAGE to 2.1000 in BIOS and i think if i remember right the CPU-Z shows the right speed of the ram as 533mhz but i cant remember fully as its been so long since i been on it lol.

Basically all i want to know is the best setting for the Q6600 and the RAM, and if i leave CPU at stock what speed SHOULD the ram be?

If i leave both at stock would that give me a good gaming system still? if i OCed the CPU to 3.2GHz what would i have to set the RAM to?

Cheers guys.
35 answers Last reply
More about q6600 1066mhz
  1. You bought DDR2 800

Most DDR2 sold at speeds above 800 is simply guaranteed to overclock to the specified settings. The only true DDR2 1066 is rated for 1.8v which is the JEDEC standard for DDR2 such as this
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227453