Trim support

miwanuma

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2010
Hello Toms need your help on setting up and maintaining Trim for my 64gb ssd. Im new to this you help would be appreciated, and be gentle as its alllll new. My os is on the ssd and I have a data 750gb hard drive

Windows 7 ultimate
Kingston ssdnow v series 64gb

miwanuma

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2010

So if I set up the os on the ssd from the beginning I have nothing to worry about? How can I see if it is monitoring?

randomizer

Champion
A correction for that linked post on sevenforums.com: Windows will report that TRIM is enabled even if the SSD doesn't support it. If it sees a HDD with a rotational speed of 0 (ie. an SSD), TRIM gets enabled. I don't know how old that drive is or what firmware version it is running, so I'd Google around and ensure that it does in fact support TRIM.

miwanuma

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2010

Sorry but, I am new to this where can I find out software ver. for my Kingston v-series

randomizer

Champion
Download CrystalDiskInfo (not CrystalDiskMark). It will tell you plenty of information about your SSD, including the firmware version. You'll need to look up the manufacturer's website (and perhaps forums) to find out what version first enabled TRIM.

Thank You randomizer. That is correct. Even though my SSD's are in a RAID 0, TRIM still comes back as "enabled" even though it's unsupported for any RAID array.

Thanks for the advise on CrystalDiskInfo, too.

miwanuma

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2010

If I am reading correctly this supports trim correct??

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskInfo 3.7.0 (C) 2008-2010 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/

-- Disk List ---------------------------------------------------------------
(1) KINGSTON SNV425S264GB : 64.0 GB [0-0-0, pd1]
(2) Hitachi HDS721075CLA332 : 750.1 GB [1-1-0, pd1]

(1) KINGSTON SNV425S264GB
Model : KINGSTON SNV425S264GB
Firmware : C091126a
Serial Number : 07MA10007924