"All SATA ports run at RAID mode together"

Silex99

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2010
My new motherboard (ASUS p7p55d evo) is arriving today and I was browsing the pdf manual. I am planning to do RAID 0 for this new build. (this is my first time setting up RAID). In the RAID section I found the following and in my research have never heard this before:

"Due to a chipset limitation, when set any of SATA ports to RAID mode, all SATA ports run at RAID mode together"

The board has:
6 x SATA 3Gb/s connectors (Intel P55)
2 x Drive Xpert SATA connectors (navy blue and gray) (JMicron)

I will have 2 HDs in RAID 0 (boot drive), 2 SATA optical drives, 1 SATA card reader, and ESATA front case port.

will these other devices work if all ports are in RAID mode? Does RAID recognize non HD devices I assume the quote above only refers to the 6 Intel ports but the JMicron ports say they are "Drive Xpert function". Am I safe to assume JMicron can be used for any old SATA device? Is there any reason I could not just Create my Raid 0 array on the Jmicron set instead?

ReU_VOoDOo

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2010
i am also having the same problem, for my movies i got 2 2TB hitachi drives to set them in raid and my os is on a seperate ssd. when i set sta to raid mode i could not start windows

mgrzTX

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2010
I don't know for sure, but I doubt you would be able to create a RAID 0 array w/ 2 HDDs on the Jmicron ports and your performance would probably suffer even if you could. On the other hand, all of your other devices should work just fine w/ the Motherboard in RAID mode. I would just have fun building the computer, I seriously doubt it will be a problem. I just read around my Mobo manual and it says something similar. The IDE controller should still be able to recognize the DVD Drive etc. w/ out any problems.