Sign in with
Your question

Building First Gaming System (Opinions & Advice Much Appreciated!)

Last response: in Systems
February 10, 2009 10:42:25 PM

I'm planning on building my first gaming PC in the next two weeks. Since this is my first time, much help and advice will be needed and appreciated from you guys!

I have a basic list in my mind, but please feel free to help tweak it if you find that it is needed.

I don't really plan to upgrade it during the next few years and hoping it may be a bit "future-proof". I won't OC the system (although I would like to, but don't know how), and was wondering if the Intel retail CPU cooler would be enough.

I have a budget of around 2000 Canadian Dollars (not including the monitor). The prices that I will post below is in Canadian Dollars (on Newegg.ca), since I live in Toronto.

CPU:
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz --- CAD 349.99

Motherboard:
ASUS P6T Deluxe --- CAD 356.69

Video Card:
Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 4870 X2 2048MB GDDR5 --- CAD 528.09

Memory:
I haven't really decided about the ram yet. Actually I got no idea about it, only knowing that I would like 6GB DDR3 Ram. I heard that the one below was quite good for it's price?

OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) --- CAD 209.39

Hard Drive:
Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB 32 MB Cache --- CAD 98.49

DVD Burner:
Not sure about this too. I just want a typical DVD/CD Burner, although I do prefer the Pioneer brand.

Power Supply:
Corsair 750TX 750W ATX12V --- CAD 159.99

Case:
Antec Nine Hundred --- CAD 147.89

Total: CAD 1850.53 (not including dvd burner, keyboard, mouse and monitor)

P.S. Please recommend a 22"-24" LCD monitor for me that would be good for gaming and watching movies (price ranging from CAD 300-400).

I like the Samsung brand but will be open-minded to accept other brands too.