Need advice on major upgrade for old system...

FadeAway_85

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2009
Hey guys,

I am a very novice and uninformed user. I had a friend who built my computer for me 2-3 years ago(E6600 and MSI 8800GTS/G92 on EVGA 680i, 4GB Corsair 800, 650W power supply). Obviously, I upgraded VGU some time ago. I don't (and do not know how to) overclock. I use this computer mainly for gaming, FPS such as Crysis, COD series, FEAR, etc. I wanted to go through a major overhaul or upgrade for my system, and I was wondering what some of you experts think on this-upgrading the CPU, VGU, and Rams. I am thinking about going E8500 or E8600, and GTX 285 with somewhat faster ram. Here are some questions I have:

1. My plan is to upgrade this system without changing motherboard, and using/stretching it as long as possible. With E8600 and GTX 285, how long will it be likely for me to use the system for games? I play all my games at 1600X1200 resolution. I know this upgrade will be probably the "last stretch" for my system, as my motherboard won't be able to support anything more improved.

2. How much improvement will this upgrade bring to my system? Is it worth the money, or should I just stretch this current system longer and get a whole new one later when price drops further? I wish I could go quad core with things like new Yorkfield or i7, but my motherboard doesn't support it. In fact, I think I need to update my bios to be able to use any wolfdale.

3. Is there anything I should be cautious about updating my system on this old EVGA 680i? Last time I tried to SLI my VGU with an extra 8800GTS, my motherboard default soundcard gave a huge issue on my computer for some reason because of SLI. Is any parts I mentioned above (E8600, GTX 285, ram memory faster than 800, etc) potentially incompatible or "buggy" with my system?

I guess this is a bit too many questions at once. I am just a bit confused, so any guide or tips would be helpful. Thanks in advance.