EDIT: MUST PURCHASE IN 30 MINUTES. EXTREMELY URGENT.

WantsToUpgrade

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2009
I'm new to the site, and am starting to wander around the various articles.

I need a new desktop computer, and would love to build one. I guess I'm looking for something in between the $1250 and $2500 SBM builds. I'd like the computer to be 'relevant' for several years, and would like something top of the line now. I don't have a fixed budget, but I'm picturing something $1500-$2000-ish should do it. If there's a good reason for going over $2000, I'd probably be ok with that. I have no preference AMD/Intel. Application wise, I'm a programmer, designer, and a multi-tasker (I'm all about the software, but I'm clueless for hardware details). I'll use the pc mostly for coding and media. TV-tuner, video editing, music, etc. I need the full works: printer/scanner, monitor, etc. I haven't really looked into it, but if there's wanting to look into getting mac's leopard to dual boot (only for iphone app writing), then that's something to consider. I know I need to start with picking a cpu/processor, but I'm kinda at a loss in terms of figuring out what is best for me.

I'm just looking for any suggestions at all. Thanks,

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008
Go for something like this:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=12200668
I have 2 300GB Velociraptors in there to run in Raid 0 for super speed, but it isn't necessary and you could just get the 1TB drive and be well within your budget after the $50 MIR from the PSU and GFX card, as well as have an awesome system. You can combo the Mobo and CPU for $30 off too. You could then OC your i7 with that cooler and get a very fast high end system. i7 is the way to go for a top of the line build right now. That PSU will allow for you to get another GTX 295 down the road to run in SLI, if you just wanted to stay with one graphics card, then look at the Corsair 750tx or the PC Power&Cooling 750w silencer.