Sign in with
Your question

CPU slows down when running Prime 95

Last response: in Overclocking
August 29, 2010 1:27:03 AM

Setup:

Athlon II X3 440 @3.0Ghz - Currently OC'd to 3.6 Ghz
ASUS M4A88T-I Deluxe (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...)
4 GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR3 1333 (running at 1290 or so)
Seagate 7200 RPM HDD
Using Radeon 4250 IGP at the moment
Windows 7 Home Premium

CPU voltage is at 1.48. The overclock appears stable.

The problem is that when I run Prime 95, every 8-10 seconds the voltage drops to 1.1v and the CPU multiplier goes from x15 to x4. It hangs like that for about three seconds then goes back to full speed.

- Strangely, when I'm not running Prime95 the CPU stays at full speed.
- Heat is about 46 idle, 63 under full load
- HT is 2400, but when I drop it down some nothing changes.
- I have Cool n' Quiet turned off in the BIOS.

I'm fairly new to overclocking so maybe I'm missing something obvious. But I searched the forums for help and didn't find anything helpful. Thanks in advance for any input you vets might have. :) 
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
August 29, 2010 1:53:28 AM

Sounds like the built-in thermal-protection is throttling your CPU, 63C is above the limit for most AMD processors.
m
l
August 29, 2010 2:59:52 AM

At times it will hit 64-ish. I'll investigate and then check back in a bit. Is there any way to disable this kind of thing?

Also, since the CPU throttles down when running Prime 95 is the overclock really getting tested? After all, it's not staying at full load...
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
August 29, 2010 4:06:42 AM

Even if you could disable it, I don't think you want to. Silicone doesn't smell very good when it's burning.....
m
l
August 29, 2010 4:18:26 AM

So... would you consider the overclock to be stable? Since it passes Prime 8+ hours, even though it throttles down like this? Would you recommend that I roll the speed back a bit?
m
l
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs