Best storage situation for gaming. (I'm sure this has been asked b4)

ggsxt

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010
I am a newb at computer building. I am hoping for some information on excellent storage options for a high quality gaming rig.

Solution
I have recently built a computer (gaming mostly) with 2 samsung f3 1TB in raid 0 which i use for basically everything except my most used applications and a ssd for boot drive.
If you like starting your computer real quick/start games quick you should think about an ssd. Most people still won't get them due to their steep price. It would be cheaper to do what decode wrote.

noob language (i hope)
Get 2 of the same 500GB drives eg. 2xsamsung f3 HD502HJ (7200rpm, single platter). set them up in a raid 0 array. use this for a boot drive and games. Then get a 3rd drive thats higher capacity 2tb drive perhaps a cheaper WD green drive for storage.
Doing this will give you 3TB of storage and still be plenty fast for most people. It will also...

decode

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2009
Keeping in mind that you can RAID and array 0? of Sata II/III Drives for a cheap price/performance/storage combo, 2x 500GB's for the main HDD and another 1 or so 1tb+ HDD's for storage, You'd probably still come in cheaper than 1 good SSD

ggsxt

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010

explain in noob language plz

randomizer

Champion
SSDs are useless for gaming except to reduce load times. Use a platter HDD for storage and use an SSD for your OS and regularly used/started applications like web browsers, email clients, etc. Unless you start the same game 10 times a day you're not going to see the benefits outweigh the wasted space (which is precious on an SSD).

scrice

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2010
I have recently built a computer (gaming mostly) with 2 samsung f3 1TB in raid 0 which i use for basically everything except my most used applications and a ssd for boot drive.