Sign in with
Your question

Pre-buy overclocking questions

Last response: in Overclocking
August 29, 2010 4:18:13 PM

I'm pricing together a new system. I have been building my own for many years, going all the way back to the days of 80386, but I've never done overclocking before.

I want my new system to outperform my current one significantly. Current system is a rather decent 2008 system: Intel E8400 3.0 GHz Core2Duo in an Intel G35 motherboard, 4 GB of DDR2-800 RAM, SATA 150 500 GB WD drive, a pair of DVD drives, and a HD4850 512MB DDR3 video card, and a probably overkill 600W OCZ power supply. Running Vista 32, meaning I only see about 3.3GB of RAM. All stock, no overclock

My new build is looking towards Phenom II build. probly a 955 BE to overclock at least to the 3.4GHz of a 965 and a GeForce GTX 460 in single-card, no plans to SLI. I replace systems every 2-3 years anyway, although old system should retain enough life to be hand-me-downed to my fiance or my sister, or used as a Linux box, depending on needs and get a further 2-3 years of life there -- I'd return to stock speeds after getting a new system.

I've basicaly decided, If I'm going to overclock to get a 965 performance out of it, I might as well see it through to a top-flight overclock.

I've generally been budget-minded all this time, and I know that budget parts which are good enough on a stock build are probably not good enough for a overclocking build, though I still want the best deal I can find. My usual instinct of lowest priced parts from a good company may not suit me well here.

That said, I have several 'givens and druthers' and some questions:

Givens & druthers:

System priority: Games, mostly MMOs, strategy & RPGs, I want the ability to play any game that might come out before 2013 however. Web use, movie viewing (though not Blu-Ray). 1680x1050 resolution.