Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Lifetime of Hard Drives and Backing Them Up

Last response: in Storage
August 23, 2010 11:21:09 PM

Sorry I'm a newbie at hard drives and want to learn more :) 

First with the IDE/SATA disc hard drives.... (atleast I think it's a disc in there)
What is the general lifetime of a Hard Drive?

What causes it to stop working (mostly asking why it "naturally" stops to work)?

What happens when it stops working? Can I still retrieve the files somehow? Or are they gone forever?

How should I back them up? Copy the entire hard drive manually onto a back up hard drive or use some software to copy it?
I've read some stuff about Norton Ghost and images... Are those just to compress the files? But that would also make it harder to access because you would need to extract them again?
I assume you just store the hard drive somewhere safe after backing up?

For SSD hard drives, I heard there's a software to display how long it has left to "live"?

In terms of security of the files, are SSD more or less secure? Are SSD more vulnerable to data loss or corruption?

Also an off-topic question, but if I purchase an SSD Sata II for my laptop... What happens if the laptop says its for SATA? I'm guessing it's SATA I, I'm not too sure. Will it just run at a slower speed, making it not worth it to buy? (And exactly what speed is decreased, like where would I notice it? Boot up, starting programs, copying files, etc?)

Phew, Hopefully someone can answer some of my questions :) 
Thanks for reading :D 

Best solution

August 23, 2010 11:55:36 PM

1) General life of a hard-drive depends a lot on its purpose and run-time
-Server class HDD's tend to have a MTBF (Mean Time Before Failure, usually shown in how many hours it can survive powered on) a lot higher then mainstream hard-drives.